Rules Quiz Answer Key

General Questions worth 1 point

1. How many points do you get for a take down? 2 points

2. How many points do you get for passing the guard? 3 points

3. How many points do you get for side control? Zero. You get the points for the passing, not for establishing side control.

4. How many points do you get for knee on belly? 2 points

5. How many points do you get for mount? 4 points

6. How many points do you get for taking the back? 4 points

7. How long do you have to hold the position to get your points? 3 seconds (but count to 5 in your head to account for adrenaline making you count fast or the Ref being tough)

8. If you voluntarily leave a point scoring position and return to it (e.g. you leave mount to take side control then regain mount) how many points do you get? None. You get points for advancing your position, voluntarily leaving and regaining the position is not advancing your position. You will, however, get a new set of points if your opponent fights out of the position and you regain the position.

9. Are you allowed to talk to your opponent or the referee during the match? No.

10.True of False, you are allowed to put your hands inside your opponent's sleeve or pants during a guard pass or sweep or another movement? False

11.What does "Combate" (pronounced "com-batch") mean? Combate is Portueguese for “Fight” and it means you should start.

12.What does "Parou" (pronounced pah-ro) mean? Parou means “stop” and you should immediately stop and hold your position by freezing in place if you are on the ground. This is especially important if you are in a dominant position. If you don’t freeze your position the Ref may not give it back to you. If you are standing and have moved out of bounds the Ref will restart you in bounds from a neutral position.

13. Can you get knee on belly points if your opponent is on their side instead of flat on their back? Yes!

14. Do you get knee on belly points if you are facing away from your opponent with knee on belly (i.e. the knee closer to the head is the one on the belly)? No. This is not knee on belly.

15. True or False, you will get back points once you are on your opponent’s back and have both hooks in and hold it for 3 seconds? True

16. True or False, you will get back points if you have your opponent’s back have one hook and one of your opponent’s arms trapped with the other leg? True.

17.True or False, you will get back points if you have your opponent’s back and your feet are crossed in front of them? False.

18.True of False, you will get back points if you have your opponent’s back and have a body triangle? False.

More Advanced Questions: Worth 2 points

19.When do you get an advantage point for a submission attempt? When you don’t finish the submission but your opponent was clearly in danger.

20.In what situation do you get points for a takedown if your opponent pulls guard? If you grab their pants before they pull guard.

21.In what situation do you get points for a takedown if your opponent jumps guard? If you grab their pants and set them down within 3 seconds. DO NOT slam your opponent, you will get disqualified for this.

22.True of False, you will get a new set of knee on belly points if your opponent fights out of the position and you regain the position? True.

23.True or False, you will get a new set of knee on belly points if you voluntarily leave knee on belly and regain it? False

24.True or False, you will get mount points if you are in technical mount? True

25.True or False, you will get mount points if you are mounted but facing away from your opponent (facing towards their legs)? False

26.When do you not get any points or any advantages from mount? If you are facing away from your opponent or in a triangle position.

27.True or False, you will get sweep points when you move from bottom to top in the 50/50 guard? False

28. True or False, you may pull, kneel or sit guard without a grip? False. You must have a grip or you will be instructed to stand back up and may get a penalty.

29. True of False, if you push your opponent out of bounds without a clear attempt at a submission or takedown you will receive an advantage? False. You may get penalized for this.

Bonus Questions: Worth 3 points

30.What happens if you land a takedown outside the safety area (i.e. completely out of bounds)? You will not get any points and the Ref will restart you and your opponent from a neutral standing position.

31.If you get a takedown in the safety area and stabilize for 3 seconds what happens? You get two points, but get restarted from standing.

32.True or False, you will get points for a takedown if your opponent jumps guard and you set them down within 3 seconds? True.

33.True or False, you will get mount points if you have one arm trapped but your knee is below their shoulder? True.

34.True or False, you will get mount points if you have one arm trapped but your knee is above their shoulder? False.

35.True or False, you will get mount points if you are in mount and you have both your opponent’s arms trapped under your knees? False. But you will get an advantage.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Study for the quiz, take the quiz, submit your score, and get entered to win a free tournament registration for the Revolution! We encourage you to go ahead and register, we will reimburse you if you